47th MMM Show winners

47th MMM Show winners

 Chick CurtisChristine White

 ^ Chick Curtis with Daniel Foster                        ^  Christine White with Daniel

 Mini Treasures Maximum Impact

2016 First Place, Yesteryear

First  Place: Tony Radcliffe, Oil, “Yesteryear”


2016 Third Place, Churchill

Third Place: Michael Butorac, Pencil, “Churchill”

The 47th Annual Multi-Media Mini Show, hosted by the Redlands Art Association, is on display at the Gallery and Art Center, 215 E. State Street, downtown, Redlands, through March 31st.

The Multi Media Mini Show (MMM) is unique to Redlands.  What makes it different is, 1) the limitation of the art piece to 14.5″ including base or frame and 2) that all media is accepted.  For example, artists can submit photography, digital (computer) work, fiber art, drawings, glass, sculptures in wood- stone- and metal, as well as the traditional fine arts.  The MMM Show is still the only one of this scale in Southern California.

2016 Second Place, Shadow Patterns 2  r mike nichols

Second Place: r. mike nichols, Watercolor, “Shadow Patterns 2”


The Mini Show is open to all California artists, who brought in art from Alta Loma to Yucca Valley.   95 artists submitted 306 pieces but only 202 pieces were chosen to show. Our jurist was Daniel Foster from Oceanside.

Living in San Diego/La Jolla from 1986 to 2003, Foster devoted himself to a full-time ascetic life of artmaking.  Life changed dramatically in 2003 when Foster moved to Riverside, California to become the Executive Director of the Riverside Art Museum for over 5 years, and subsequently the President/CEO of The Community Foundation Serving Riverside/San Bernardino Counties for 4 years.  Foster’s professional arts and philanthropic leadership career enjoyed tremendous accomplishments and arts community -building successes in the Inland Empire – before returning to San Diego in 2012 as the Executive Director of the Oceanside Museum of Art (OMA) for nearly 3 years. In 2016, Foster is finally “emerging” and engaging the contemporary art world with a series of public exhibitions, installations, programs, and philosophic treatises that will reveal his extensive and diverse artistic investigations and approaches in painting, installation, photography, poetry, public/site‐specific art, and conceptual art.

Sandy Davies announced the winners of the competition and Foster presented the awards, over $ 3000 in cash and product awards at the Artist’s Awards Reception on March 13.

First Place, $400, was presented to Tony Radcliffe from Redlands for his oil, “Yesteryear”.  Second Place, $300, to r. mike nichols from Riverside and Third Place, $200, to Michael Butorac from Beaumont.  Juror’s Choice awards, $ 50 each, to Michael Butorac, Beaumont, and Bill Westwood, Calimesa; Excellence Awards, $ 50 each, to Jan Harvey, Yucaipa and Jeff Owens from Redlands. Past President’s Award, $100, given to Tom Gillette; Joan Wiley Memorial Award $100 was presented to Joanna Mersereau; Doris S. Cook Memorial Award $50 to Ginger Pena. Watercolor West gave a $50 award to Caley Soury for excellence in watercolor.  Winners of the community sponsored awards are: Kathy Paulus received Ozel Jeweler’s $250 gift certificate, Christine White received $40 from Bud Rickert’s Art Supplies and Athene Johnson received a $75 gift certificate from Wilson’s Frame Up.

Art supply companies also donated goods for prizes. Jack Richeson & Co. donated gift certificates: $150 to Martha Cowan, $125 to Chuck Curtis and $100 to Aubrey Sanchez.  Guerrilla Outfitters donated gift certificates: $140 to Julie R. Evans and $80 to Sally Bell.  Joanne Ohnemus won the $85 painting panels set from Ampersand.

Honorable Mentions were given to Janet Edwards, Adeola Davies-Aiyeloja, Mary Grinyer and Michael Mazgai.    xMMM4 2016 (4)Purchase Award Patrons pledged to buy art even before the show opened.  They were: Shirley Harry, Redlands Community Hospital Foundation, Sandy Davies, Linda Willason, Jackie Becker, Micah & Christine White, and Grace Fermier.  The morning before the shop opened, they chose to buy art from: Tony Radcliffe, Deborah George, r. mike nichols, Laura Ryan, Evelyn Ifft, Shiela Lelanc, Marge Beasley, and Nancy O’Connor.

77 Friends of Redlands Art Association artists juried into the show are: Adeola Davies-Aiyeloja, Jennifer Ali, Gina Barron, Sally Bell, Tricia Beuler, Deborah Bishop, Gail Brownfield, Kathleen Bryan, Cherie Burris, Michael Butorac, Abby Cameron, Cindy Cannarozzi, Janis Commentz, Liz Coviello, Martha Cowan, Chick Curtis, Sandy Davies, Jeanne Dolan, Doug Dolde, Janet Edwards, Janet Esparza, Julie R. Evans, S. Ladean Evans, Fariad, Annabeth Fernandez, John Fisher, Olga Polasek Forester, Betty Francis, Deborah George, Brendalee Gibson, Tom Gillett, Mary Grinyer, Vici Haag, Jan Harvey, Larry Harvill, Patty Hayden, Clayre Breslin-Heaslip, Erica Hill, Evelyn Ifft, Ada Jarvis, Adele Johnson, Jack Johnson, Athene Johnston, Angela Koenig, Tanya Kirkendall, Won Madeline Koh, Michael LeBlanc, Sheila LeBlanc, Carol Lima, Michael Mazgai, Caroline McAllister, Diana McLaughlin, Pat Meeker, Carin Meidell, Rick Meidell, Joanna Mersereau, Kimberli Munkres, r. mike nichols, Nancy O’Connor, Joanne Ohnemus, Tomi Olson, Jeff Owens, Penny Palmer, Kathy Paulus, Ginger Pena, Sharon Rachal, Tony Radcliffe, Richard Ransom, Linda Richards, Dawn Romo, Laura Ryan, Cate Salenger, Aubrey Sanchez, Edward Sotello, Jessica Newman Skrentny, Dan Soury, Judith Sparhawk, Dean Stayner, Ronald Stephany, Vlad Voytilla, Jean Waller, Christine White, Brad Willason, Linda Willason, Ruth Wood, Gilbert Yzaguirre.

18 other exhibiting artists are: Marge Beasley, Allison Brown, Karen Clark, Johnathon Corbridge, Gary Dehrer, Gloria Fogler-Mancini, Jeremiah Gilbert, Nathan McCall, Virginia Melton, Robert Merchant, Alan Remele, Caley Soury, Dean Spencer, Johanna Steffen, Catherine Sutton, Alicia Wheller, Bill Westwood, Richard Wynne.

The Grand Opening reception was embellished by a floral arrangement from Hockridge Florist.  The public in invited to admire the creativity of these Southern California artists.  Gallery hours are Monday through Saturday, 11am to 4:30pm.  For more information, call 909-792-8435.